Review the requirements for operating a pedicab, a pedal-powered public passenger vehicle.
Pedicab business operators must have a pedicab business license and a license for each individual pedicab. To learn more about applying for a pedicab license, see how to get a permit to operate a tour (by pedicab, Segway, bus, bicycle, or running).
Pedicab operators should review Section 9-410 of the Philadelphia Code. This section covers City regulations for operating pedicabs. There are also special rules for pedicabs.
Pedicabs may not:
- Operate on sidewalks, shared-use paths, or trails.
- Board or discharge passengers from a roadway travel lane.
- Stand in bike lanes or travel lanes.
- Stand in bus zones.
- Park or stand on sidewalks.
Pedicabs must meet specific insurance requirements for the entire duration of their permit. Pedicab permit holders must provide certificates to show they have met the requirements.
All policies must be issued by insurance companies with an AM Best Company rating of A-VII or better. If you’re not sure if your insurance company meets this rule, you can ask them for their AM Best rating.
Commercial general liability
Pedicab businesses must have liability insurance that insures the business and all of its drivers. Insurance policies must provide the following minimum levels of coverage for injury or death and damage to property:
- A combined single limit of $1 million per occurrence.
- $100,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $300,000 for injury or death to all persons in one accident.
- $50,000 for property damage.
Workers’ compensation and employers’ liability
The pedicab license holder must have a workers’ compensation and employers’ liability insurance policy where required by Pennsylvania law. Self-insured license holders must provide a current copy of the Pennsylvania Certification form for self-insurance. For more information about self-insurance, visit the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry.