Sign In
City of Philadelphia

Historic Preservation Task Force


The first meeting of the Historic Preservation Task Force will be held on Thursday, July 20, 2:30-4:30 at 1515 Arch St. in the Planning Commission hearing room on the 18th Floor. An agenda and meeting materials will be made available closer to the meeting date. A long-term meeting schedule will be developed later in the summer. When the schedule for additional meetings is set it will be posted here.

Agenda for July 20, 2017 meeting.

Task Force Meeting Dates and Times :

(Locations TBD),
July 20, 2017: 2:30pm - 4:30pm 1515 Arch St, 18th Fl PCPC Hearing Room
Sept 14, 2017: 8:30am - 10:30am Center City
Late Sept, 2017: 6pm - 7:30pm Listening Session
Oct 19, 2017: 6pm - 7:30pm Neighborhood
Nov 16, 2017: 8:30 - 10:30am Center City
Jan 18, 2018: 6pm - 7:30pm Neighborhood
March 15, 2018: 8:30 – 10:30am Center City
May 17, 2018: 6pm – 7:30pm Neighborhood
July 19, 2018: 8:30 - 10:30am Center City
Sept 20, 2018: 6pm - 7:30pm Neighborhood
Nov 15, 2018: 8:30 - 10:30am Center City

Mayor Kenney has created a historic preservation task force to help the City reassess how Philadelphia preserves its historic resources. The task force will explore strategies and make recommendations regarding:

• Surveying historic resources
• Incentivizing preservation
• Regulating for preservation outcomes
• Education

The task force includes experts in historic preservation, development, archaeology, land use and architecture. It also includes community members to ensure that our neighborhoods are represented.

Historic Preservation Task Force Members

Harris Steinberg, Task Force Chair
Dominique Hawkins, Task Force Vice Chair
Leo Addimando, Building Industry Association
Peter Angelides, Financial Analyst
Oscar Beisert, Preservationist
Duane Bumb, Commerce
Cathy Califano, Planning & Development
Carl Dress, Historic Preservation Committee, AIA Philadelphia
Mike Fink, Licenses and Inspections
Patrick Grossi, Preservation Alliance
Julia Gutstadt, Urban Land Institute
Nan Gutterman, Historic Preservation Architect
David Hollenberg, University Architect at Penn
Lou Iatarola, Community Representative
Bob Jaeger, Partners for Sacred Places
Roland Kassis, Developer
Cory Kegerise, PA Historical & Museum Commission
Melissa Long, Division of Housing and Community Development
Randy Mason, Historic Preservation Academic
Shawn McCaney, William Penn Foundation
Matt McClure, Land Use Attorney
Doug Mooney, Archaeologist
Justino Navarro, Community Representative
Apurna Palatino, Parks & Recreation
Laura Spina, Planning Commission
Mark Squilla, City Council
Bob Thomas, Historical Commission
Seri Worden, National Trust for Historic Preservation
James Wright, Community Development Corporation