Skip to main content

Board members

The five-member, independent Philadelphia Board of Ethics was established by ordinance, approved by voters in May 2006, and installed on November 27, 2006.

Michael Reed, Esq., Chair
Michael Reed, Esq.

Michael H. Reed, Esq., Chair, is senior counsel in the Philadelphia office of Troutman Pepper, where he is a member of the firm’s Financial Restructuring and Insolvency Practice Group. He is a member of Temple University’s Board of Trustees and the Board of Trustees of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University. Mr. Reed is a 1969 graduate of Temple University (B.A., Political Science) and received his J.D. from Yale Law School in 1972. He was associated with the firm of Pepper Hamilton LLP as an associate, partner, and counsel from 1972 until 2020 when the firm became Troutman Pepper by merger. Mr. Reed is a past president of the Pennsylvania Bar Association and previously served on the Board of Governors of the American Bar Association and as the state delegate for Pennsylvania in the ABA’s House of Delegates, having previously served on the ABA’s Board of Governors. He currently chairs the ABA’s Standing Committee on Constitution and Bylaws.  Mr. Reed was previously a member of the Pennsylvania Judicial Inquiry and Review Board and chaired the Professional Guidance (Ethics) Committee of the Philadelphia Bar Association. Prior to being selected as Chair, Mr. Reed served as Vice-Chair of the Board of Ethics. He is currently serving his final term on the Board that will end in November 2025.

Brian J. McCormick, Jr., Esq., Vice Chair
Brian J. McCormick, Jr., Esq.

Brian J. McCormick, Jr., Esq., is a partner with the law firm of Ross Feller Casey, LLP in Philadelphia. He has a national practice that includes representing whistleblowers in qui tam and fraud actions involving the waste of government funds and resources, as well as representing individuals and their families who have suffered catastrophic injury or been the victims of sexual abuse or harassment.  Mr. McCormick received his J.D. from Rutgers University School of Law and is a graduate of the University of Richmond. Before being appointed to the Board of Ethics, McCormick was selected by Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter to serve on the Mayor’s Task Force for Campaign Finance and Ethics Reform, which produced a final report in late 2009. A number of the recommendations in that report have been enacted in Philadelphia. Mr. McCormick formerly served as a member of The Committee of Seventy, the Philadelphia nonpartisan watchdog group. Before attending law school, Mr. McCormick served as an analyst with the FBI in its Philadelphia office, and also worked as a newspaper reporter in the Philadelphia area. Mr. McCormick’s term on the Board runs until November 2026.

Sanjuanita González, Esq.
Sanjuanita González, Esq.

Sanjuanita González, Esq., practices immigration law at Sanjuanita González Law Firm, a Philadelphia law firm. Ms. González is a former President of the Council of Spanish Speaking Organizations (Concilio), the oldest Latino community-based organization in Pennsylvania. She previously served on the Board of Governors of the Philadelphia Bar Association. Ms. González is a member of the American Immigration Lawyers Association, the Philadelphia Bar Association, and the Hispanic Bar Association. Ms. González’s term on the Board runs until November 2023.

Ellen Mattleman Kaplan, Esq.
Ellen Mattleman Kaplan, Esq.

Ellen Mattleman Kaplan was Philadelphia’s Chief Integrity Officer from 2016 through 2020, during Mayor Jim Kenney’s first term.  Prior to that, she served as the Vice President and Policy Director at the Committee of Seventy, a non-partisan organization promoting ethical and effective government.  Her career has also included roles as the Managing Director of Public Policy and Communications at Greater Philadelphia First, a business a civic-leadership organization; as the Associate Director of Pennsylvanians for Modern Courts, a statewide non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to reforming Pennsylvania’s judicial system; and as a Philadelphia Assistant District Attorney.  Ms. Kaplan has also served as a private consultant focusing on ethics, media communications, and policy research and analysis.

Ms. Kaplan earned a J.D. from Temple University Beasley School of Law and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Princeton University, majoring in History and Russian Areas Studies.

Her term on the board runs until November 2027.

Dr. Valerie Harrison, Esq.
Dr. Valerie Harrison, Esq.

Dr. Valerie Harrison is the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Community Impact at Temple University. Dr. Harrison came to Temple as a member of its in-house legal team after more than a decade in corporate private practice. As an attorney, Valerie enjoyed a legal career as an associate at the Morgan Lewis firm and in-house counsel at Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. and ARCO Chemical Company. Valerie also served as general counsel at Arcadia University and Lincoln University, and as acting president at Lincoln. In both her legal and administrative roles, she has advised and managed portfolios responsible for compliance, specifically investigations and resolution of complaints involving a variety of federal, state, and local regulations and laws.

Dr. Harrison is a Philadelphia native and graduate of the Philadelphia High School for Girls. She earned a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Virginia, a juris doctorate from Villanova University School of Law, and a master’s degree in liberal arts and a doctor of philosophy degree in African-American Studies, both from Temple University.

Dr. Harrison has been appointed to complete the term of JoAnne Epps which runs until November 2024.