Sign In

Cultural Opportunities

Philadelphia Parks & Recreation not only offers great, year-round activities, we also offer annual cultural opportunities for the artistically-inclined, or any brave soul who has something to express.
Neighborhood Park Movies
2014 Movie Nights:
All movies begin at dusk. Please check our Facebook page for current info and rain dates: www.facebook.com/PhilaParkandRec

  • Wednesday, June 18: Despicable Me 2 at Granahan (338-50 N.65 St. 19151)
  • Tuesday, July 15: Despicable Me 2 at Penn Treaty (Columbia & Beach, 19125)
  • Wednesday, July 16: The Lego Movie at Parkside Evans (53rd & Parkside, 19131) 
  • Tuesday, July 22: Alpha & Omega at Penn Treaty (Columbia & Beach, 19125)
  • Wednesday, July 23: Despicable Me 2 at Overington (4600 Lieper, 19124) 
  • Monday, July 28: TBD at Shepard (5700 Haverford Ave, 19131) 
  • Tuesday, July 29: Shrek at Inn Yard Park (4208-52 Ridge Ave, 19129) 
  • Wednesday, July 30: TBD at Fisher Park (600 W Spencer St, 19120) 
  • Monday, August 4: Despicable Me 2 at Dickinson Square (1600 Moyamensing, 19148) 
  • Tuesday, August 5: The Lego Movie at Marconi Plaza (Broad & Oregon, 19148) 
  • Tuesday, August 12: Despicable Me 2 at Pennypack on the Delaware (State Rd. at Rhawn, 19136) 
  • Wednesday, August 13: The Lego Movie at Woodside (3910 Conshohocken, 19131)
  • Monday, August 18: TBD at East Park (behind Mander Rec Center, 2140 N. 33rd St. 19121)
  • Tuesday, August 19: The Lego Movie at Shot Tower (101-31 Carpenter St., 19147) 
  • Wednesday, August 20: The Lego Movie at Overington (4600 Lieper, 19124) 
  • Monday, August 25: Frozen at Hagert St. Playground (2040 E. Hagert St., 19125) 
  • Tuesday, August 26: The Lego Movie at Powers Park (2987 Almond St., 19134) 
  • Wednesday, August 27: Frozen at Campbell Square (Belgrade & Allegheny, 19125) 
  • Tuesday, September 2: TBD at Seger Park (1000 Lombard St, 19147)
  • Wednesday, September 3: The Lorax at Starr Garden (600-44 Lombard, 19157) 
Arts and Artists Outdoors (A2O)
A2O is a cutting-edge partnership with the Mural Arts Program that pairs middle school-aged youth with a professional artist-in-residence at their local recreation center to create artwork that highlights a nearby green space. In Spring 2013 the program is offered at five rec centers: Piccoli, Hawthorne, Ziehler, Mander, and Max Myers. Programming runs from April 8th-June 7th, 2013.

Read the program overview