Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services

Working with individuals and families to help Philadelphians live healthy, self-determined lives.

Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services

What we do

The Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services (DBHIDS) works with the Philadelphia School District, child welfare and judicial systems, and with families and communities to provide care and services for:

  • People with mental illness.
  • People struggling with addictions.
  • People with intellectual disabilities.

We embrace a vision of recovery, resilience, and self-determination through a model of care that is directed by the person in recovery. In this model, professional treatment, along with family, individual, and other resources, allows people to manage their own conditions and build their own recovery resources.

We also help people with intellectual disabilities live self-determined lives in their communities by providing quality support and services.


1101 Market St.
Suite 700
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Looking for more information?

You can find the Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services' full content on our separate website.


David T. Jones

David T. Jones is the acting commissioner at DBHIDS. Jones provides oversight to the department, a $1 billion healthcare agency with nearly 800 employees. As a behavioral health administrator with over 25 years of progressive management experience, Jones has produced measurable results to improve the lives of children, adults, and families with behavioral health needs.

Jones possesses deep knowledge of state and federal regulations, including Medicaid managed care and mental health rehabilitation standards. He has managed both an urban and suburban public behavioral health system that increased access to care and expanded the range of services available to residents with behavioral health care needs.


Name Job title Phone #
Jill Bowen Deputy Commissioner
(215) 685-4736
Andrea L. Brooks Special Coordinator to the Commissioner for Strategic Priorities
(215) 685-5547
Nicole Connell Special Advisor to the Commissioner
(215) 685-4742
Joan L. Erney Chief Executive Officer, Community Behavioral Health
(215) 413-7697
George Hanson Chief People Officer
(215) 685-5419
James Hoefler Chief Financial Officer
(215) 685-4982
Kamilah Jackson Deputy Chief Medical Officer for Child and Adolescent Services
(215) 413-8586
Roland Lamb Deputy Commissioner, Strategic Planning and Innovation Division
(215) 685-5425
Odysseus Marcopolus Chief Digital Officer
Geoffrey Neimark Chief Medical Officer, Community Behavioral Health
(215) 413-7193
Jeffrey Orlin Administrative Services Director
(215) 685-5911
Denise Taylor Patterson Director, Intellectual disAbility Services
(215) 685-5905
Sosunmolu Shoyinka Chief Medical Officer
Sandy Vasko Director, Behavioral Health Division
(215) 685-5525
Sorry, there are no results for that search.