Skip to main content

Pathways to Reform, Transformation, and Reconciliation

Steering committee

Mayor Jim Kenney established the Steering Committee on June 4, 2020, at the height of protests against police brutality following the murder of George Floyd. The group will help lead the path of healing and racial justice in Philadelphia.

  • The Steering Committee is a diverse group of external stakeholders who are guiding the City as it enacts meaningful police reforms, reimagines public safety, and advances racial equity.
  • The City’s internal work group includes leaders of departments that focus on public engagement, diversity and equity, police and public safety, education, and commerce.

Reconciliation Steering Committee members

Name Professional affiliation Email Phone
Sarah Ashley Andrews  Dare 2 Hope
Connor Barwin Make The World Better
Rev. Lorina Marshall Blake Independence Blue Cross Foundation
Ryan Boyer Laborers’ District Council
Rev. Bonnie Carmada Salvation Army
Patrick Clancy Philadelphia Works
City Council President Darrell Clarke Philadelphia City Council
Andrea Custis Urban League of Philadelphia
Pastor Carl Day Culture Changing Christians
Rep. Jason Dawkins PA House of Representatives
U.S. Rep. Dwight Evans U.S. House of Representatives
Shannon Farrell Harrowgate Civic Association
Latifah Fields Coalition of 100 Black Women – PA Chapter
Bishop Benjamin Fisher Greater Bethel Temple
Guy Generals The Community College of Philadelphia
Monica Gibbs Delaware River Port Authority
Glenn Hing Hing Cheng P.C.
Rep. Jordan Harris PA House of Representatives
Dr. William Hite School District of Philadelphia
Judge Renée Cardwell Hughes Philadelphia Opportunities Industrialization Center, Inc.
Senator Vincent Hughes PA State Senate
Doha Ibrahim Board of Education Student Representative
Kelvin Jeremiah Philadelphia Housing Authority
Loree Jones Philabundance
Rep. Malcolm Kenyatta PA House of Representatives
Keith Leaphart Lenfest Foundation
Lisette Martinez Jefferson University & Health
Rev. Darron McKinney Bright Hope Baptist Church
Rep. JoAnna McClinton PA House of Representatives
Sylvester Mobley Coded by Kids
Thomas J. Nestel Transit Police, SEPTA
Councilmember Cherelle Parker Philadelphia City Council
Michael Pearson Iron Stone Real Estate Partners
Bilal Qayyum TheFather’s Day Rally Committee, Inc.
Nedia Ralston Office of PA Governor Wolf
Pedro Ramos Philadelphia Foundation
Leslie S. Richards SEPTA
Robin Schatz Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia
Martini Shaw Rector The Historic African Episcopal Church of St. Thomas
Leah Smith Sheppard The Links, Incorporated – Philadelphia Chapter
Rev. Dr. Michelle Anne Simmons Why Not Prosper, Inc.
Rev. Stephen D. Thorne St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church
Sozi Tulante Dechert LLP
Sharmain Matlock Turner Urban Affairs Coalition
Rev. Dr. Alyn Waller Enon Tabernacle Baptist Church
Donavan West Black Business Accelerator, Inc
Imere Williams Board of Education Student Representative
Dr. Tahir Wyatt United Muslim Masjid

Internal work group members

Name Department affiliation Email Phone
Cynthia F. Figueroa Co-chair
Deputy Mayor, Office of Children and Families
Marcel Pratt Co-chair
City Solicitor, Law Department
Nefertiri Sickout Co-chair
Acting Chief Diversity Officer, Office of the Mayor
Ajeenah Amir Office of Public Engagement
Brian Abernathy Managing Director’s Office
Tumar Alexander Managing Director’s Office
Soledad Alfaro Philadelphia International Airport
Kimberly Ali Department of Human Services
Anjali Chainani Office of the Mayor
Liana Dragoman Office of the Chief Administrative Office
James Engler Office of the Mayor
Deana Gamble Office of the Mayor
Lorelei Gauthier Managing Director’s Office
Jane Golden Mural Arts Philadelphia
Otis Hackney Chief Education Officer
Iola Harper Department of Commerce
Sylvie Gallier Howard Department of Commerce
Mayor Jim Kenney Office of the Mayor
Rue Landau Philadelphia Commission on Human Relations
Naomi Washington Leapheart Office of Public Engagement
Kelly Lee Chief Cultural Officer
Mitchell Little Health & Human Services
Altovise Love-Craighead Police Department
Deborah Mahler Office of the Mayor
Nicola Mammes Managing Director’s Office
Letitia McNeil Department of Planning and Development
Celena Morrison Office of LGBT Affairs
Lynn Newsome Department of Planning and Development
Joanna Otero-Cruz Managing Director’s Office
Danielle Outlaw Police Department
Christine Piven Office of Children and Families
Maari Porter Office of the Mayor
Irene Contreras Reyes Office of the Mayor
Liza M. Rodriguez Office of Children and Families
Vaughn Ross Office of the Mayor
Nicole Seawright Law Department
Sarah Stevenson Chief Integrity Officer
Stephanie Tipton Chief Administrative Officer
Jonathan Todd Philadelphia International Airport
Koert Wehberg Mayor’s Commission on People with Disabilities
Gary D. Williams Department of Human Services
Mikecia Witherspoon Office of the Mayor