List of Districts, Townships and Boroughs of the County of Philadelphia Before 1854

For more information about the formation of the various political subdivisions of the City and County of Philadelphia, please click here.

Aramingo, Borough of
Belmont, District of
Blockley, Township of
Bridesburg, Borough of
Bristol, Township of
Byberry, Township of
Delaware, Township of
Frankford, Borough of
Germantown, Borough of; Township of
Kensington, District of
Kingsessing, Township of
Lower Dublin, Township of
Manayunk, Borough of
Moreland, Township of
Moyamensing, Township of; District of
Northern Liberties, District of
Oxford, Township of
Passyunk, Township of
Penn, Township of
Penn, District of
Richmond, District of
Roxborough, Township of
Southwark, District of
Spring Garden, District of
West Philadelphia, Borough of; District of
Whitehall, Borough of

The various townships and districts within Philadelphia contained many villages and other settlements. Many of the names of these long-ago villages are still applied to various neighborhoods within Philadelphia. A complete list of the names of these villages and neighborhoods was compiled by the Library Company of Philadelphia in 1994 and 1995 and has been augmented by the staff of the Philadelphia City Archives. Click on a folder or file to return to that level...
PhILS Home
Philadelphia City Archives
List of Districts, Townships & Boroughs - you are here-->(Text-only version of this page)

This page last updated on 3 April 1998