Educational Nominating Panel Convening Meeting February 12, 2020, 12 p.m.

Mayor's Reception Room, 202 City Hall

Meeting Minutes

<u>Members Present</u>: Peter Gonzales, Maura McCarthy, Derren Mangum, Ivy Olesh, Wendell

Pritchett, Mike Mullins, Kimberly Pham, Sean Vereen

1. Mr. Pritchett welcomed everyone and explained the agenda for February 12, 2020. The

Panel would be voting on the nominees to submit to the Mayor and would also explain

the process by which they arrived at those names.

2. Mr. Pritchett asked if there were questions on the January 8, 2020 meeting minutes

which had been previously circulated. There were none. Mr. Vereen moved for the

approval of the minutes, which Ms. Olesh seconded. The minutes were approved by

unanimous vote.

3. Mr. Pritchett explained the process by which the panel deliberated over the applicants

to the board, including a recitation of dates on which the panel held executive sessions

[February 6, 2020 and February 8, 2020], and how it narrowed the pool to arrive at the

names to be nominated.

4. Mr. Pritchett announced the potential candidates around which he believed the Panel

had consensus:

Dr. Valerie Adams-Bass

Ameen Akbar

Sarah-Ashley Andrews

Dawn Ang

Dario Bellot

Alison Cohen

Susan DeJarnatt

A.J. Ernst

Cindy Farlino

Cheryl Harper

Tremaine Johnson

Gavin Keirans

Chad Lassiter

Dr. Donna Laws

Nina Liou

Rosybell Maria

William Peebles

Andrew Stober

Dr. David Thomas

- 5. Mr. Pritchett then asked the panel to disclose any conflicts of interest that may impact their ability to discuss or vote on any individual being considered. Sean Vereen recused himself from the discussion and vote around Tremaine Johnson.
- 6. The Panelists then each read short biographies for each of the candidates; Panel members had the opportunity to comment following each description.
 - a. Ms. Olesh read a short biography about Dr. Valerie Adams-Bass.
 - b. Mr. Mangum read a short biography about Ameen Akbar.
 - c. Mr. Gonzales read a short biography about Sarah-Ashley Andrews.
 - d. Ms. Pham read a short biography about Dawn Ang.
 - e. Mr. Mullins read a short biography about Dario Bellot.
 - f. Ms. McCarthy read a short biography about Alison Cohen.
 - g. Mr. Vereen read a short biography about Susan DeJarnatt.
 - h. Mr. Mullins read a short biography about A.J. Ernst.

- Ms. Olesh read a short biography about Cindy Farlino.
- j. Mr. Mangum read a short biography about Cheryl Harper.
- k. Mr. Gonzales read a short biography about Tremaine Johnson.
- I. Ms. Pham read a short biography about Gavin Keirans.
- m. Mr. Mullins read a short biography about Chad Lassiter.
- n. Mr. Vereen read a short biography about Dr. Donna Laws.
- o. Ms. Pham read a short biography about Nina Liou.
- p. Ms. Olesh read a short biography about Rosybell Maria.
- q. Mr. Mangum read a short biography about William Peebles.
- r. Mr. Gonzales read a short biography about Andrew Stober.
- s. Ms. Pham read a short biography about Dr. David Thomas.
- 7. Mr. Pritchett then announced that the panel would also be considering the current Board of Education members, pursuant to the Mayor's request.
 - a. Julia Danzy
 - b. Leticia Egea-Hinton
 - c. Mallory Fix-Lopez
 - d. Lee Huang
 - e. Maria McColgan
 - f. Chris McGinley
 - g. Angela McIver
 - h. Joyce Wilkerson
- 8. Mr. Pritchett invited members of the public to comment.
 - a. Karol Kilminik commented that the process was not transparent and inherently flawed.

- b. Lisa Haver commented that appointment process of the Board of Education is undemocratic and that the panel's work was in violation of the Sunshine Laws.
- Mr. Pritchett invited a motion to close the nominations. Sean Vereen moved for the nominations for potential members to be closed. Maura McCarthy seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- 10. Mr. Pritchett then opened the floor for the Panel to vote on each of the potential nominees.
 - a. Sean Vereen moved to nominate Valerie Adams-Bass, Ivy Olesh seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - b. Derren Mangum moved to nominate Ameen Akbar, Peter Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - c. Kimberly Pham moved to nominate Sarah-Ashley Andrews, Mike Mullins seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - d. Sean Vereen moved to nominate Dawn Ang, Maura McCarthy seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - e. Mike Mullins moved to nominate Dario Bellot, Ivy Olesh seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - f. Derren Mangum moved to nominate Alison Cohen, Peter Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - g. Kimberly Pham moved to nominate Susan DeJarnett, Mike Mullins seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - h. Maura McCarthy moved to nominate AJ Ernst, Sean Vereen seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
 - Peter Gonzales moved to nominate Cindy Farlino, Ivy Olesh seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.

- j. Derren Mangum moved to nominate Cheryl Harper, Peter Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- k. Kimberly Pham moved to nominate Tre Johnson, Mike Mullins seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote (Sean Vereen recused himself).
- I. Maura McCarthy nominated Gavin Keirans, Sean Vereen seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- m. Ivy Olesh nominated Chad Lassiter, Maura McCarthy seconded the motion.

 The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- n. Derren Mangum nominated Donna Laws, Peter Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- o. Mike Mullins nominated Nina Liou, Kimberly Pham seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- p. Sean Vereen nominated Rosybell Maria, Maura McCarthy seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- q. Mike Mullins nominated William Peebles, Ivy Olesh seconded the motion.
 The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- r. Derren Mangum nominated Andrew Stober, Peter Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- s. Kimberly Pham nominated David Thomas, Mike Mullins seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- t. Sean Verren nominated the sitting members of the Board of Education, Julia Danzy, Leticia Egea-Hinton, Mallory Fix-Lopez, Lee Huang, Maria McColgan, Chris McGinley, Angela McIver, Joyce Wilkerson, Ivy Olesh seconded the motion. The motion was adopted by a unanimous vote.
- 11. Mr. Pritchett thanked the Panel members for their time and care to the review and consideration of candidates. Mr. Pritchett said that it was a rewarding experience to

meet Philadelphians who were all willing to give up their time both to interview and to potentially serve on the Board.

- 12. Mr. Pritchett then thanked Christina Hernandez, Assistant Secretary to the Panel for all of her work to get the Panel together.
- 13. Mr. Pritchett then asked Christina Hernandez to prepare a letter to send to the Mayor on behalf of the Panel with the list of nominees for the Mayor to consider.
- 14. Mr. Pritchett adjourned the meeting at 12:45pm.

Christina Hernandez, Assistant Secretary