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ABOUT THE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION With a Homestead Real Estate Tax Exemption, the assessed value of each eligible 
homestead is reduced by the amount of the Exemption before the Real Estate Tax is computed.    
 
In the case of a Tangled Title, you may be eligible for the 3-year Conditional Homestead if:  

• You have inherited the house in which you live from a deceased relative, but the deceased relative’s name is on 
the most recent deed; your name is not;  

• A fraudulent mortgage or deed was recorded for your house; or  
• You entered into a rent-to-own agreement (also called lease/purchase agreements or installment land 

contracts) to buy the house and have paid all or some of the purchase price for the house, but your name is not 
on the deed to the house.  

 
DOCUMENTS REQUIRED In order to receive the conditional Homestead Exemption, you must submit:  

1. A paper Homestead application.  
2. A completed and signed Homestead Affidavit (see next page).  
3. Provide copies of two (2) of the following documents showing your name and the address of the property you 

are seeking the Homestead Exemption for:  
a. Government Issued ID - acceptable forms are:  

i. Photo IDs issued by the U.S. Federal Government or the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 
(including the Department of State Voter ID Card)  

ii. PA Driver’s License or Non-driver’s License photo ID  
iii. Valid U.S. passport  
iv. U.S. military ID- active duty and retired military (a military or veteran’s ID must designate an 

expiration date or designate that the expiration date is indefinite). Military dependents’ ID must 
contain an expiration date  

v. Employee photo ID issued by Federal, PA, PA County or PA Municipal government  
b. Utility bills: PGW, Water Revenue, PECO, or cable from the last 6 months.  
c. Voter Registration Card  
d. Lease/purchase or rent-to-own agreement  
e. Mortgage Agreement  

 
 
FALSE OR FRAUDULENT APPLICATIONS The OPA may select, randomly or otherwise, applications to review for false or 
fraudulent information. Any person who files an application that contains false information, or who does not notify the 
OPA of a change in use which no longer qualifies as a Homestead property, will:  

• Be required to pay the taxes which would have been due but for the false application, plus interest.  
• Be required to pay a penalty equal to 10% of the unpaid taxes.  
• If convicted of filing a false application, be guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree and be sentenced to pay 

a fine not exceeding $2,500.  
 
The Homestead Exemption application must be signed by an owner for whom this property is his or her primary 
residence. If the property has more than one owner, signatures of additional owners are not required. By signing the 
application, the applicant is affirming or swearing that all information contained in the application is true and correct.  
For questions on the Homestead Exemption, please call 215-686-9200 or visit www.phila.gov/opa. 
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I, ___________________________________________________, hereby make the following statements of fact subject 
to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 relating to unsworn falsification to authorities, that to the best of my knowledge, 
information, and belief: 

1. I currently reside at ________________________________, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (“property”). 

2. I occupy ________ % of the property as my residence.   _______ % of the property is used for some other 
purpose, including but not limited to a rental or business purpose.   

3. I purchased this property on: _____________________________________________________. 

4. I have resided at this address for ____ years and ____ months.  I have not moved or maintained a primary 
residence at any other address during this timeframe. 

5. I have an ownership interest in the property because (check any that apply): 

(a) _____ I am identified as an owner on the current deed to the property. For new homebuyers, you must 
attach a copy of the deed or other appropriate paperwork from settlement with this Affidavit. 

(b) _____ I am not identified as an owner on the current deed to the property, but I inherited the property from 
_______________________________(NAME), whose relationship to me is ___________________.  I inherited 
the property in __________________ (month) ________ (year) (usually, when the owner on the current deed 
died). 

(c)_____ I am not identified as an owner on the current deed to the property, but I purchased the property from 
_____________________________ by way of a rent-to-own agreement in _______ (month) _______ (year).   

(d)_____ I have some other ownership claim to the property; specifically 
___________________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

5.  I intend to take all reasonable efforts to obtain a deed to the property. 

6. Even if my Homestead Exemption application is approved for the next tax year, I understand that the failure to    
               obtain a deed to the property may cause me to lose the Homestead Exemption in future years.  

 
Signature: ___________________________________                      Date: _________________   

 

AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION 

                   Month                                                  Day                                          Year 


