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Tobacco Retailer Permit Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 
Q: What is the new Tobacco Retailer Permit law? 
 

• As of January 1, 2012, under Amended Chapter 9‐600 of the Philadelphia Code, entitled “Service 
and Other Businesses,” the City of Philadelphia requires all tobacco retailers to obtain permits for 
the retail sale of tobacco products and certain other products containing nicotine. 

 
Q: Which tobacco products are covered under this law? 
 

• This legislation covers any product containing tobacco leaf, including cigarettes, cigars, pipe 
tobacco, chewing tobacco, dip tobacco, hookah, snuff, snus, bidis, and any other preparation of 
tobacco.  

 
Q: Which other nicotine products are covered under this law?  

• Electronic smoking devices, or e‐cigarettes, which simulate tobacco smoking and are intended to 
deliver nicotine to the person inhaling from the device; this also includes any solution, 
compound, or other substance containing nicotine and manufactured for use with such a device. 

• Unapproved nicotine delivery products include all products that contain or deliver nicotine; are 
intended for human consumption; and that has not been approved by the United States Food 
and Drug Administration as a tobacco use cessation product.  

 
Q: Who is required to have a permit?  
 

• Retailers in Philadelphia that sell tobacco products and other products containing nicotine as 
defined above. 

• Entities (e.g., private owners, corporations) with multiple retail locations must have a separate 
permit for each location.  

• Owners of establishments with cigarette vending machines are required to have a permit. (Note: 
Unless they own the establishment in which the cigarette vending machine is located, owners of 
the machines themselves are not required to have a permit.) 

• Permits are nontransferable – they cannot be transferred from one entity to another or from one 
location to another. 

• A new permit is needed whenever there is a change of ownership. The new owner must apply 
for a new permit and pay the $50 fee. 

• A new permit is required whenever there is a change of location. The owner must apply for a 
new permit and pay the $50 fee. 
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Q: Who is required to have a permit, and who is required to have both a permit and a Cigarette Dealer 
License from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue?  

 
• See table below. 

You must have… 
If you sell…  Cigarette Dealer License 

(Pennsylvania) 
Tobacco Retailer Permit 

(Philadelphia) 
Cigarettes  √  √ 
Little cigars  √  √ 
Cigars    √ 
Pipe tobacco    √ 
Chewing tobacco    √ 
Dip tobacco    √ 
Hookah    √ 
Snuff    √ 
Snus    √ 
Bidis    √ 
Electronic smoking devices    √ 
Unapproved nicotine delivery devices    √ 

 
Q: How long is the permit valid? 
 

• The Tobacco Retailer Permit is valid for one calendar year effective January 1st and will expire on 
December 31st of the same year. The permit must be renewed annually. 

 
Q: How much does the permit cost? 
 

• The permit fee is $50. 
• The annual renewal fee is $50. 

 
Q: Is the permit fee pro‐rated for a new retailer that applies for a permit late in the calendar year? 
 

• No, the permit fee is the same no matter when a retailer applies for the permit. 
 
Q: What is the purpose of the Specialty Tobacco Establishment exception and Tobacco Products 
Distribution Business exception forms? Do I have to fill these out? 
 

• Under  the  Philadelphia  Clean  Indoor  Air  Worker  Protection  Law  (CIAWPL),  businesses  are 
prohibited  from  allowing  smoking  in  an  enclosed  area  open  to  the  public,  with  certain 
exceptions.  The  exceptions  are  for  Specialty  Tobacco  Establishments  and  Tobacco  Products 
Distribution Businesses. 

• A Specialty Tobacco Establishment is a food or beverage establishment whose on‐site sales or 
rentals of tobacco, tobacco‐related products and accessories for consumption or use on the 
premises comprises fifteen percent (15%) or more of gross annual sales. (Note: Vending machine 
sales are not included in gross sales data.) A Tobacco Products Distribution Business is an 
establishment whose primary business is the retail and/or wholesale distribution of tobacco and 
tobacco‐related products and accessories for consumption on or off the premises. For purposes 
of this definition, the term "primary" shall mean that ninety percent (90%) or more of the gross 
sales on an annual basis (or on such other basis as the Department of Licenses and Inspections 
shall by regulation provide with respect to such establishments that have been open for less than 
one full year) shall derive from tobacco and/or tobacco‐related products and accessories.  



November 2012 3

• You would fill these forms out if your establishment is a Specialty Tobacco Establishment or 
Tobacco Products Distribution Business and you wish to claim either the Specialty Tobacco 
Establishment or Tobacco Products Distribution Business exception to the Philadelphia Clean 
Indoor Air Worker Protection Law (CIAWPL). These forms are located at 
http://www.phila.gov/health/permitsForms.html. 

• If you complete the applicable form, you must include it with your Tobacco Retailer Permit 
application. 

• These forms are not required if your establishment does not seek the Specialty Tobacco 
Establishment or Tobacco Products Distribution Business exception to CIAWPL. 

 
Q: How do I apply for the permit? 
 

• Fill out the application which can be downloaded at 
http://www.phila.gov/health/permitsForms.html. 

• There is no online or electronic filing of the application at this time. 
• All retailers are required to submit a copy of their Tax Clearance Certificate. On the Philadelphia 

Revenue Department website (http://www.phila.gov/revenue), select Tax Clearance on the 
home page, accept the terms of use, select Tobacco Retailer as the compliance type, and enter 
the required information.  

• Retailers that sell cigarettes and/or little cigars are also required to submit a copy of their 
Cigarette Dealer License from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue. 

• We accept money orders and cashier’s checks only. Do not send cash or personal or business 
checks. Make the money order or cashier’s check payable to City of Philadelphia. 

• Mail or bring the application to the Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Services, 
321 University Avenue, 2nd Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19104. 

 
Q: How long will it take to get the permit? 
 

• Retailers will receive the permit in the mail within 60 days. 
 
Q: What should I do with the permit once I receive it? 
 

• Retailers must prominently display the Philadelphia Tobacco Retailer Permit at each location 
where it engages in tobacco retailing. 

 
Q: What are the reasons the permit would be revoked? 
 

• Failure to provide all information required as a condition of issuing a Tobacco Retailer Permit. 
• Making false statements in the application. 
• Failure to maintain a valid Business Privilege License. 
• The person issued a Tobacco Retailer Permit is delinquent in the payment of any City or School 

District of Philadelphia taxes, charges, fees, rents or claims, or any penalties or fines relating to 
the person’s business for which the person is responsible, unless the person has entered into an 
agreement to pay any such delinquency and is abiding by the terms of such agreement. 

• The person issued a Tobacco Retailer Permit engages in tobacco retailing at any other location in 
the City without a permit. 

 
Q: What is the penalty for not having a permit? 
 

• Any retailer engaging in tobacco retailing without a valid Philadelphia Tobacco Retailer Permit 
may be subject to a $2,000 fine per violation. Each day the entity engages in such unauthorized 
tobacco retailing is considered a separate violation. 
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Q: If I am opening a new business and want to sell cigarettes, what is the process? 

• You will first need to apply for the Cigarette Dealer License from the Pennsylvania Department of 
Revenue. You can go online and apply at www.pa100.state.pa.us. If you have any questions or 
concerns, you can call 717‐783‐9374. 

• Once you receive your Cigarette Dealer License, submit a copy of it with your application for the 
Philadelphia Tobacco Retailer Permit. You will also need to include a copy of your Tax Clearance 
Certificate and the $50 fee. 

 


