Fostering Connections Older Youth Extensions in Pennsylvania:
Frequently Asked Questions about Act 80 and Act
91
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Two new Pennsylvania laws will provide greater opportunities and support to older
youth in foster care. Not only will these laws help provide support and guidance for
youth who are not ready to be on their own at age 18, it will also increase the number of
youth who leave the system achieve permanency by extending adoption and
guardianship subsidies to age 21.

Act 80, which amends provisions of the Public Welfare Code, extends kinship
guardianship and adoption subsidies to age 21 for youth who enter those arrangements
at age 13 or older.

Act 91, which amends various provisions of the Juvenile Act, expands the criteria for
youth to stay in care past age 18 and also allows youth to re-enter care before turning
21 if they aged out at 18 or older.

When does Act 91 take effect?
v' Act 91 was signed by the Governor on July 5, 2012, and became effective on
that date.

What sections of the law does Act 91 change?
v" Act 91 amends the definition of a child in the Juvenile Act at 42 Pa. C.S.A.
6302.
v" Act 91 also amends the disposition section of the Juvenile Act to allow youth
to re-enter care. The change can be found at 41 Pa. C.S.A. 6351(j).

When does Act 80 take effect?
v Act 80 was signed by the Governor and became effective on July 1, 2012.

What sections of the law does Act 80 change?
What does the law change about the conditions for staying in care past age 18?

v Act 91 expands the criteria for staying in care past age 18 and provides more
detail regarding eligible activities. Prior to the Act 91, youth could only stay
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in care past age 18 if they were in a program of “treatment “ or “instruction.”
While case law made clear that the term instruction was broad and at least
included post-secondary education, interpretation of the term has varied
throughout the state. Thus, many eligible youth did not remain in care. Act
91 provides much more clarity on eligible activities while leaving the focus
on youth and their individual plan to develop the skills they need to support
themselves and be productive and healthy when they leave care. The law
also adds criteria that will enable youth to stay in care if they are working at
least 80 hours a month.

Now a vouth can remain in care past 18 if they are doing any one of the

1. completing secondary education or an equivalent credential;
2. enrolled in an institution which provides postsecondary or vocational

education;

3. participating in a program actively designed to promote or remove
barriers to employment;

4. employed for at least 80 hours per month.

* Does a youth have to do more than one of these activities to remain in care?

v" No. The youth must do at least one of the listed activities. Of course, a youth
can combine activities such as work part time in addition to going to college
or a trade school. However, if the youth chooses to focus on one activity that
is permissible as well.

* Isa GED preparation program a program which leads to a credential that is the
equivalent of secondary education?
v Yes. Programs that prepare a youth for getting their General Equivalency
Diploma (GED) are alternatives to completing secondary education and are
eligible activities under the Juvenile Act.

* What are examples of institutions which provide postsecondary or vocational
education?
v" These include, but are not limited to:
* Community colleges or junior colleges
* 4 year colleges or universities
* Trade schools, including Job Corps
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* What are programs actively designed to promote or remove barriers to
employment?
v" These include, but are not limited to:

* Programs funded or designed by the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
(OVR)

* Vocational or trade programs

* Programs designed for individuals with disabilities to improve work
readiness or work skills

* Vocational or job skills development programs through the Office of
Income Maintenance (welfare), Career Link or other Workforce
Development entities

* So can a youth who works and does not attend school or any educational or
training program stay in care past age 18?

v" Yes. Aslong as youth are working at least 80 hours a month, they can remain
in care past age 18. This provision reflects concerns that some youth were
not opting to continue their education after high school or wanted to take
some time to figure out the direction of their career before continuing their
education. These youth may not be ready to be independent and leave care
and should also have the opportunity to continue in care.

* How will youth prove that they are working 80 hours a month?

v The law does not provide direction. Attorneys should advise their clients to
keep and copy work schedules, pay stubs and any other documents that
record their hours. If the youth’s employment comes from a combination of
sources, such as paid employment and an unpaid internship for example,
special care should be taken in documenting work hours.

* (Can a youth work more than 80 hours a month?

v" Yes. 80 hours a month is a minimum requirement. Many youth who opt to
stay in care based on this exception will likely be working full time or
working towards a full time schedule. Other youth who face more barriers to
employment may only be able to complete 80 hours per month.

* Does Act 91 provide any exceptions for activities for youth with disabilities?

v" Yes. Ifayouth has a medical or behavioral health condition that prevents
them from meeting any of the listed criteria, they may remain in care.
Documentation of the condition must be included in the permanency plan
and updated at least at each permanency plan review and revision. The
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youth’s attorney should help ensure that appropriate documentation is in the
youth’s file and included in the permanency plan to assure continued
eligibility.

* Are youth automatically continued in care past age 18 if they are meeting any of
the listed criteria?

v" No. Act 91 does not change the practice that the youth must make a “request”
to “the court” that jurisdiction be continued past age 18. For this reason, it is
still extremely important that the youth'’s attorney make the request clear to
the court and the children and youth agency. Youth should also put their
request in writing as soon as they can. The FSP and ISP meetings are good
times to bring up the issue and make the youth’s intentions clear. Juvenile
Law Center will post sample templates for youth requests on our website in

the coming days at www.jlc.org/fosteringconnections.

* Does the law result in bringing more funds to children and youth agencies so they
can better serve youth who stay in care past age 18?

v" Yes. Act 19 is Pennsylvania’s implementation of the older youth provisions
offered to all states in the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing
Adoptions Act of 2008 (“Fostering Connections”). That law encouraged
states to allow more youth to stay in care past age 18 in exchange for the
federal government providing the state with Title IV-E reimbursement for
placement and services for those youth.

v" While PA has allowed youth to stay in care past age 18, prior to Act 19, the
state could not draw down Title IV-E funds for those youth after age 18.
Thus, state and local dollars had to be used instead. This created fiscal
pressures to discourage youth from staying in care because the state and
county would have to pick up the entire cost. Now, the county and state can
draw down the same IV-E funds for foster youth until 21 that they can for
foster youth under age 18.

¢ Will placement options expand for youth ages 18-21?
v Fostering Connections also allows states that extend youth in care past 18 to
receive federal reimbursement for youth in supervised independent living
(SIL) settings. HHS is allowing states discretion to define what is considered
areimbursable SIL. HHS has encouraged states to be creative and flexible in
their definition, and has advised that the following settings should be
included: apartments, dorms, host homes.
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* Can youth who age out of care really re-enter care?
v" Yes. If a youth aged out 90 days or less before turning age 18 or any time
after turning age 18, they can re-enter care any time before turning age 21.

¢ What is the mechanism for allowing dependency jurisdiction of a youth over age
18?
v" The new law allows the juvenile court to resume jurisdiction over a youth
who was previously adjudicated dependent before turning age 18. A new
adjudication of dependency is not required.

e Whatis the procedure for re-entry?

v' The law does not prescribe any specific procedure or process. It only
describes the right and the authority of the court. It is likely that juvenile
court procedural rules will establish a statewide process. Until that time,
children’s attorneys should:

1. inform their clients of the right to re-enter if and when they leave care
before turning age 21, and

2. be prepared to file motions for resumption of court jurisdiction.
Juvenile Law Center will post templates for motions to request that
the court resume jurisdiction of a child on our website in the coming
days at www.jlc.org/fosteringconnections.

* What does a youth need to do once he or she re-enters care?

v" Ayouth will need to agree to engage in at least one of the activities listed in
the new definition of child to remain in care. If the youth cannot engage in
one of the activities due to a medical or behavioral health condition, that
condition must be documented.

* Isayouth who aged out of care prior to the enactment of the law, but who is still
under age 21, eligible to re-enter?
v Juvenile Law Center believes that these youth will be eligible to re-enter as
long as they aged out 90 days before turning age 18 or after age 18. Thisa
reasonable reading of the clear language of the law.

* Do the changes in the law impact adoption and permanent legal custodianship?
v Yes. Act 80 sought to correct disincentives to permanency that existed in the
law. Because adoption and guardianship subsidies ended at age 18, some
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families would opt to have the child remain in foster care because benefits
and services could extend until age 21. Families who wanted the permanent
arrangement of adoption or guardianship were afraid to choose these option
for fear that benefits and support would be lost to the child. Act 80 now

allows adoption and guardianship subsidies to extend until age 21 for
any arrangement entered into when the youth is 13 or older.

* Do children whose subsidies are extended past age 18 have to engage in any
particular activities to be eligible?
v" Yes. Youth in extended subsidy arrangements must meet the same criteria as
youth in extended foster care. They must engage in at least one of the
following activities:

1. completing secondary education or an equivalent credential;
2. enrolled in an institution which provides postsecondary or vocational

education;

3. participating in a program actively designed to promote or remove
barriers to employment;

4. employed for at least 80 hours per month.

v" Similarly, if the youth has a medical or behavioral health condition that
prevents them from meeting any of the listed criteria they, remain eligible as
long as documentation of the condition is maintained. At least every six
months, families should create a file and update their records with proof of
the condition and any related treatment.

* How will a youth’s compliance with the activity requirements be monitored?

v’ Itis not yet clear how compliance will be monitored for youth in adoption or
guardianship arrangements because their cases are no longer open, case
management is not provided, and permanency planning is not required.

v If a Department of Public Welfare Bulletin is not released in the near future, it
is likely that compliance monitoring will be detailed in the subsidy
agreement. Children’s attorneys should review this document with the
caregiver and child so they understand any requirements to send documents
or other proof of continued eligibility. These include proof of enrollment,
work schedules, as well as proof of a medical or behavioral health condition
that prevents a child from meeting any of the activity requirements.

v’ If the process for assuring compliance is not clear, families should be
maintain a file where proof of a child’s activities can be updated at least
every six months to assure continued eligibility.
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*  Which children and families are eligible for an extended subsidy?

v In addition to the existing eligibility requirements for adoption and
guardianships subsidies, to be eligible for a subsidy past age 18, the child’s
adoption or guardianship agreement must be finalized when the child is age
13 or older

*  What about children who are still under 21, but had their adoption or
guardianship arrangement finalized when they were age 13 or older, but
before the date of the enactment of Act 80?

v' At this time, it is not clear if these children will receive the benefit of Act 80.
Juvenile Law Center encourages individuals who fall into this class to call
their children and youth agency and request to renegotiate the turns of their
subsidy agreement based on Act 80.

For more information please contact Jenny Pokempner at Juvenile
Law Center:

* 215-625-0551 x111
* jpokempner@jlc.org
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